worship.

don’t try to blow out the sun for me
i’m not asking for what i know can’t be
all that i ask is for a smile of two
nothing is too good for you

holy water for your face
avocado oil for your skin
cinnamon sticks between your teeth
placing prayers on your lips

why won’t you eat what you are fed
when i touch myself,
i think of only you

kisses at your feet
bites for your thighs
caresses for your calves
nails for your backside

beautiful angels come to my bed
i’m satisfied

flames burn away
we don’t have to speak
afterlife reborn

 on their flesh 
i have fed

tears turned blood
it’s ancestral healing i seek
giving spirit
no death myths

soiled by lust
i feel no shame

 

holy spirits
i open myself

no longer forsaken
when they call my name


on my knees
sacrifice awaits

may i kiss you
there

sacred flesh
autumn hues
swallowing
liquid drops

so beautiful you are

spirit speak
celestial beings
digesting
communions

forgive me for my ways

head bowed
bonded souls
thirsty for sacrament
to pour down my chin

nothing is too good for you

i am
a reverent heap
of amens / weeps
at your feet

*image courtesy of alex cutter
lyrics (italics) by nina simone
meshell n’degeocello
3 thoughts on “worship.

  1. Yes to this entire piece! So much of a Me’Shell vibe going on here. My favorite lines: “soiled by lust
    i feel no shame

    holy spirits
    i open myself

    no longer forsaken
    when they call my name

    on my knees
    sacrifice awaits

    may i kiss you
    there”

    When you get going, there’s no stopping you.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

